The New Husband by D.J. Palmer

45046677

Having read and enjoyed the author’s previous book, Saving Meghan, I was pretty excited about this one – and I wasn’t disappointed. The New Husband is completely different from Saving Meghan, but just as twisted.

The first half of this book is somewhat of a slow burn….and then about halfway through – BAM! – we’re hit with a reveal that changes everything and has me saying “Wait, what?? Hold on a sec…” and flipping back a couple of pages to make sure I’d gotten it right. From there it’s a disturbing, non-stop ride to the twisty end.


Some quick character impressions:
Nina: Most of the time, I wanted to grab Nina by the shoulders, shake her, and tell her to get her mental shit together so she could see what was going on. The amount of gaslighting that goes on – that she accepts! – is mind-blowing.

Simon: I had an immediate, almost visceral reaction to Simon. The minute he appeared on the page, I was like ugh, this guy – and not once throughout the story did that opinion change.

Maggie: Oh, Maggie. The true hero of this story. I wanted so badly for Nina to believe the things Maggie was bringing to her attention.

Connor: I would have liked to have seen Connor support his sister, rather than immediately assuming she was just being “dramatic.”

As the reader, your best bet is to go into this one as blind as you can so you can enjoy it for what it is – a crazy ride of a psychological thriller.

Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for my honest review!

Leave a comment