Saving Meghan: A Novel by D.J. Palmer

40122065depositphotos_125946288-stock-illustration-spoiler-alert-rubber-stamp

Although this is billed as a thriller, I personally saw it as more of a family/medical drama/mystery. That said, it was still an excellent read, and all I wanted to know was WHAT IS WRONG WITH MEGHAN?

**WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD**
If you don’t want certain things ruined for you, please read no further. 

First things first: I figured out pretty early on that, if indeed Meghan was being poisoned – though I wasn’t yet convinced of that – the poison was obviously in the chicken soup. Every time the soup was mentioned, I’d say out loud “It’s in the soup!” and not once did I doubt myself. 😄 It’s not revealed until very close to the end of the story, but it was definitely my “I knew it!” moment.

As for whether or not I chose to #BelieveBecky or #ProtectMeghan, I’d say it was equal parts both throughout the story. I pretty much believed Becky right from the beginning, while simultaneously wanting to protect Meghan. I honestly thought Becky’s father Carl was the one poisoning her. Aside from the fact that he’s a total dick, he just seemed to jump on the “her mother must be hurting her” train pretty quickly for someone who’s Becky’s HUSBAND. We find out later that he was cheating on her anyway – and with one of Meghan’s doctors – so, douchebaggery confirmed.

What did surprise me was who the perpetrator turned out to be: Dr. Amanda Nash, the GI doctor who began the whole process of removing Meghan from her home because she suspected “medical child abuse,” or Munchausen Syndrome by proxy. 😲 I mean, I knew something was off about her, but I couldn’t figure out what. Turns out she was banging Carl and wanted both Becky and Meghan out of the way. I was not sad when Carl got what he absolutely deserved, nor when Dr. Nash got hers.

Saving Meghan kept me engaged, and was topped off with a pretty satisfying ending, which is something that has been missing from some of my more recent reads.

Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for the ARE, and the awesome holographic bookmark!20190509_223330

2 thoughts on “Saving Meghan: A Novel by D.J. Palmer

Leave a comment